FAQ - Pistol Registration, Purchase, and Transfer for Michigan Residents
License to Purchase: MCL 28.423was repealed by PA 381 of 2000 eliminating the $5 processing fee for obtaining a License to Purchase. However, you may be charged a fee to notarize the application for a License to Purchase. MCL 28.422A local police or sheriff may charge up to $1.00 for the cost of providing, to the owner, a copy of information that was entered in the pistol entry database.
MCL 28.422No, antique pistols made before 1898 and replicas of antiques that use black powder, matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap or similar type of ignition system do not require a License to Purchase. The pistol is still subject to all concealed pistol licensing laws.
MCL 28.422Eighteen (18) years of age. However, Federal law prohibits a federally licensed firearms dealer from selling a pistol to anyone under the age of twenty-one (21).
The Safety Inspection requirement in the law, previously MCL 28.429has been repealed. As long as the gun was previously registered in your name and is on file with the Michigan State Police, you are not required to complete any additional paperwork. It is not a requirement that you carry your Safety Inspection Certificate or License to Purchase on you when carrying, using or transporting the gun, once 30 days from the date of purchase has expired. There are no Safety Inspection Certificate forms available to issue you a new one. You may contact your local law enforcement agency and request a copy of the information entered in the pistol entry database relative to your registration/license. They may charge up to $1.00. Or, you may make a request through the Michigan State Police, Freedom of Information Unit, 106 West Allegan, Lansing, MI 48933 for a copy of your registration.
MCL 28.422A License to Purchase is a license required prior to acquisition of a pistol by purchase or gift. The important part of the License to Purchase is the affidavit signed by the purchaser swearing to their own qualifications. A License to Purchase is not needed for anyone with a valid Michigan Concealed Pistol License, for firearms dealers purchasing from wholesalers, or for relics, curios, antiques, etc., not made for modern ammunition. Someone with a valid Michigan Concealed Pistol License must, however, complete a Pistol Sales Record when purchasing or acquiring a pistol.
MCL 28.422The prospective purchaser must successfully pass (70% or more) a basic pistol safety questionnaire and obtain a License to Purchase, which is valid for 10 days, from the local law enforcement agency. The purchaser must sign a notarized sworn statement that they meet the Michigan qualifications to purchase/obtain a pistol. At the time of the purchase, the purchaser and the seller complete the form. The License to Purchase, must be returned in person or by certified or first class mail to the local law enforcement agency within 10 days.
MCL 28.422No, you have 30 days in which to pass the basic pistol safety questionnaire and obtain a License to Purchase after your arrival into the state.
My uncle had a .357 magnum revolver registered in his name when he died. My brother has had custody of the gun but now wants to give it to me. What procedure do I follow to gain legal possession of this gun in Michigan, since my uncle obviously cannot sign it over to me?
MCL 28.422Michigan statutes provide for the personal representative of the estate or next of kin having authority to dispose of the pistol to sign the License to Purchase as the seller.
There are no provisions in the statute; however, send a letter to the Michigan State Police, Firearms Records Unit, 106 West Allegan, Lansing, Michigan 48933, advising of the transaction. The letter must include a description of the pistols, your son's name and address, and the date of transaction in order for the Firearms Records Unit to update their records. Your son must comply with the weapons laws of his own state. There are federal restrictions regarding transfer of ownership across state lines.
MCL 28.422Upon establishing legal residency, you should immediately contact your local law enforcement agency, pass the basic safety questionnaire, and complete a License to Purchase.
Although MCL 28.422states a person must be a citizen of the United States to purchase a pistol, the Michigan Court of Appeals ruled this as unconstitutional. Per Federal law, you must be a legal resident alien, having resided in this state for 90 days.
You should take it to your local police agency and they can check on the history of the pistol. They will, of course, check to make sure it is not stolen, and also for any previous registered owner. If the pistol was not previously registered, it is considered contraband, and cannot be registered to you. If there was a previous registered owner, attempts should be made to contact that person. If contact is made, the pistol will either be turned over to them, or they will sign off as seller on a License to Purchase issued to you. If attempts at making contact are futile, you can get a License to Purchase and the pistol can be released to you.
MCL 28.422Unless you have a valid Concealed Pistol License issued after July 1, 2001, you must obtain a License to Purchase first. When the owner of a pistol is deceased, the statutes provide that the next of kin or personal representative of the estate has the authority to sign as seller. If you are the next of kin or personal representative, you may sign as seller indicating "Estate of ..." and also as purchaser.